|Pembroke College, was founded in 1624 on the site of the medieval Broadgates Hall. Named after the third Earl of Pembroke who was Lord Chamberlain and Chancellor of the University, it was originally intended to supply places for boys from Abingdon School. At first the college made use of the existing 16th and 17th century buildings but these have been replaced, mainly in the 19th century.
The front Quad and entrance range were remodelled in 1829 when the classical decoration on the Gate tower was removed, an extra storey was added and a Gothic oriel window was added over the entrance lodge. Pembroke is unique among Oxford Colleges in having its main entrance in the angle of the quad. The builder was a local man, Daniel Evans.
To the east of the entrance range are Wolsey’s restored Alms Houses which front onto St. Aldates. These belonged to Christ Church until 1888 when they were purchased by Pembroke college. In 1929 they became the Master’s Lodgings and the former Master’s House was converted for undergraduate accommodation.